Professional Certifications

The Linux Professional Institute Certification (LPIC) program is designed to certify the competency of IT professionals using the Linux operating system and its associated tools. It is designed to be distribution neutral, following the Linux Standard Base and other relevant standards and conventions.

The LPIC program is designed in multiple levels. Determining which tasks were suitable to each level was done using a "Job Task Analysis" (JTA) survey. As with all of the LPIC exam development processes, the JTA was developed and executed using recognized psychometric processes, to ensure its relevance and high quality.

LPIC-1 Emblem


Junior Level Linux Certification

The first IT certification program to be professionally accredited by National Commission For Certifying Agencies.

To pass Level 1 you should be able to:

  • Work at the Linux command line
  • Perform easy maintenance tasks: help out users, add users to a larger system, backup & restore, shutdown & reboot
  • Install and configure a workstation (including X) and connect it to a LAN, or a stand-alone PC via modem to the Internet.
Get LPIC-1 Certified Learn about 3-in-1 Certification

LPIC-2 Emblem


Advanced Level Linux Certification

You must have an active LPIC-1 certification to receive LPIC-2 certification, but the LPIC-1 and LPIC-2 exams may be taken in any order.

To pass Level 2 you should be able to:

  • Administer a small to medium-sized site
  • Plan, implement, maintain, keep consistent, secure, and troubleshoot a small mixed (MS, Linux) network
  • Supervise assistants
  • Advise management on automation and purchases
Get LPIC-2 Certified

LPIC-3 Emblem


Senior Level Linux Certification

The LPIC-3 Certification program represents the culmination of LPI's Certification Program.

LPIC-3 is designed for the "enterprise-level" Linux professional. The program has been developed with the input of hundreds of Linux professionals from around the globe and with input from some of the world's leading technology companies. It also represents the highest level of professional, distribution-neutral Linux certification within the industry.

Get LPIC-3 Certified